Response #8: Love It or Leave It

When I was reading through The Moonstone, I found myself changing suspects every few chapters. I could not pin down exactly who I thought stole the moonstone. I think by the time I finished the novel every character had crossed my mind as being a probable suspect. I just couldn’t decide how the book was going to turn out. When the mystery began to unfold, I was completely blown away by the ending. A mystery that took so long to describe and explain unraveled so quickly. The opium came out of left field for me. I never saw that coming. The whole novel I thought it was going to be Rosanna Spearman who had something to do with the moonstone disappearance. I guess that would have been a bit too obvious, but I thought Collins would find a way to make it work. He didn’t though. Instead, he made the culprit one of the least suspected characters.

Love It: I absolutely loved Sergeant Cuff, especially after dealing with Superintendent Seegrave for a little while. Cuff was a much needed change of pace in the novel. I just really enjoyed his character. I thought he was very professional. If anything, the other characters got attached to him and not vice versa. I also really enjoyed reading Betteredge’s narrative. At times, I wasn’t sure if he was trustworthy, but he ended up being the most trustworthy out of all the narratives in my opinion. I was sad to see his narrative come to an end. Because it was so long and detailed, it took me a while to get in the mindset of a new character. I was so used to being inside his head that it took me a while to get used to Miss Clack and the other narrators.

Leave It: I couldn’t stand Miss Clack, and after reading several other blogs, I see that I am not alone. She had such a pompous and arrogant way of giving her account. I was so happy when her narrative was through. I almost wanted to skip it altogether, but I stuck it out. I found it humorous that Franklin Blake added in editor notes throughout her narrative.  I also had a problem with Godfrey Ablewhite. I never liked him, though. I wanted Franklin Blake and Rachel to be together so I saw him as a hindrance to that relationship. I hated him even more at the end of the book when I found out he was only after Rachel’s money (cue Kanye West’s “Gold Digger).

I thought the ending of the novel was a bit absurd. There were so many twists and turns that I often had to go back and re-read pages to make sure I understood what was happening. I never even imagined opium being involved with the disappearance of the moonstone, but Collins had other plans. I did enjoy the novel, but ultimately, I thought the ending was a bit all over the place. Since this is the first detective novel, I am eager to read later works and see how authors began to develop the genre.

 

Leave a Reply

